Skip to content

Whistler B.C.

March 22, 2009

Just got back from Whistler BC getting a couple days of skiing in!  It was a last minute decision as our uncle Alan Beard found a great deal on a condo and went up for the week with Nick and his buddy Joe while me and Gus went up for a couple days at the end of their stay.  For those of you who are geographically challenged, Whistler is almost 2 hours northwest of Vancouver and is hosting the 2010 Winter Olympics.  Whistler got the most snow all year during this week, so needless to say the skiing was good!  Since I still consider myself a newbie at skiing, I have to admit that I was a little disappointed that there weren’t any groomed runs so that I could get some good speed going which is what I like the most.  Since it was constantly snowing, they didn’t get the groomers out knowing it was a waste of time .  But as the skiing went by, my confidence level grew that much more and I ended up having a great time gliding through the knee deep powder at some points.  Last year, I would’ve fallen every other turn in deep snow, but somehow I didn’t manage one single fall… due to the snow anyway:)  I did happen to catch an edge/bump when I wasn’t paying attention!?!  Darn bumps 🙂  With the snow, means clouds… the mountains were socked in the entire 2 days of skiing which was disappointing as the scenery is amazing… when you can see it anyway!  And of course the day we left, it was perfectly sunny so it was hard to leave.

So where was Bryn during all this?  She was being a great mom staying back with Bailey.  Bailey had the flu and is just about back to normal now while Bryn caught the bug and is just starting to feel better as well.  But she’s heading out tonight for a girls night and some shopping so dad has to pull his own weight sometimes too…

Next Saturday we are off to Miami to visit cousins Annika/Lee and Curt/Alicia!  We are also looking forward to a couple days in Key West just the two of us with Bailey.

The picture is at the base in Whistler Village.  Most of the mountain is hidden in the clouds which is towering above.  I shot this picture at about 6pm so the lifts are closed with no skiers… usually it would be pretty full of people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

